The world is full of chocolate lovers, and it can be quite challenging for people with dairy allergies to find pure dairy-free chocolate. The best way to ensure you have the best dairy-free chocolate is to check the ingredients. Chocolate with a long list of ingredients is probably a filler.

The guide below gives you tips on how to purchase dairy-free chocolate and verify that it’s free of milk proteins:

Check Out the Labels

Always make sure you read the labels on the chocolate packaging. The list of ingredients and other related information can help you to determine whether the chocolate is milk-free or not. Pay keen attention to words like “milk-free, “dairy-free,” “suitable for vegans,” and similar phrases. 

You should also look for phrases that indicate the product was manufactured from places that use milk. If you are allergic to milk, this is an indicator for you to avoid such brands or products because of the risk of milk contamination. Other dairy-related ingredients include whey, milk solids (curds), sodium caseinate, lactose or galactose, and caramel colouring.

Choose Milk-Free Chocolate Varieties

Look for specific dairy-free chocolate. Dark chocolate varieties of do not add any milk to their products. Adding milk to dark chocolate will reduce their delectable and robust taste. Dark chocolate is bitter, with a strong flavour. Remember that a few brands will still manufacture dark chocolate with milk or milk derivatives. Ensure you get the right product.

Vegan chocolate also contains no dairy milk. They are plant-based chocolates that taste different from the dairy options. Their flavours are pallet-friendly with a more smooth texture. Find specific stores that sell vegan food or healthy food supplies for your dairy-free chocolate. 

Boutique chocolate makers can also be a good source for your dairy-free chocolate. They pride themselves of sourcing their chocolate from renowned growing areas in the world. They are not likely to adulterate the quality of their chocolate with milk.

If you can’t find local stores with dairy-free chocolate, check out the manufacturers who can ship the products to you.

Take Precautions

Consult with your doctor to discuss your food choices if you are highly intolerant to milk products.

Always triple check the products you are buying. Beware of dairy-free chocolate products with suspicious labels that indicate the product has milk derivatives or it is contaminated. Read the labels carefully, even if it is a brand that you have dealt with before.

If you are not sure of the dairy-free status of the chocolate you purchased, don’t consume it. Ask the manufacturing company for clarification and advice. This is because chocolates labelled vegan or dairy-free do not guarantee that the chocolate is right for you. Some have high fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated fat, a lot of sugar, and other ingredients that should not be consumed in large amounts.

Conclusion

A lot of brands and chocolate products are available in the market today. Not all of them are genuine dairy-free products. When you are out shopping, scrutinize the products, read the labels, and verify their authenticity. You don’t want to end up in the hospital for consuming chocolates contaminated with dairy milk.

You can narrow down your search by focusing on vegan and dark chocolate dairy-free options. From there, you will be able to determine the right chocolates from the ingredients on the labels. Alternatively, shop for your dairy-free chocolate products from specialized dairy-free stores or companies that sell pure organic products. 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s